The Babycakes Donut Maker… GIVEAWAY!

~CONTEST COSED~

The winner is “Brynne Ruble” !

 

Every time we go to Kohl’s my boys ask me to buy the Babycakes Donut Maker.

(They used to ask for the cake pop maker but after looking at them with an “are you serious, what do I do all day?” look, they stopped.)

Today we bought it!

After our SWEET (and epic) purchase we continued to shop a bit. We grabbed dinner at Macaroni Grill (they totally revamped! …for another post), then raced (well not really) home to rip open the donut maker box! I quickly thumbed through the enclosed recipe book to find a recipe I could make with ingredients I had on hand (hint: grab some buttermilk!).

We went with the Applesauce Donuts recipe (sans maple glaze).

OK, let’s go!

BabyCakes_Donut-Maker

12 year old son plugged in the “donut maker” and then went back to his iPod (that’s help right?). 4 year old son helped with the ingredients and poured in waaaay too much cinnamon (thank goodness we all love cinnamon).

TIP: Instructions state; pour two tablespoons of batter into each donut well. I found that it was so much easier to use a piping bag to get the batter into the donut wells. 

Simply fill the wells, close the lid, and wait about 3 or 4 minutes for the donuts to bake. There’s actually a light on the top of the unit to tell you when the donuts are “ready”.

The unit is similar to a George Foreman Grill or Waffle Maker–yet a BREEZE to clean (simply wipe with a damp rag/cloth).

Once the donuts are baked, open the lid (careful–the unit is very hot!) and remove the mini donuts with the handy fork that comes in the box. Place each donut on the (supplied) wire rack to cool.

I think my favorite part, aside from family time, was the darling silver shaker that came in the box. You can fill it with anything–we chose cinnamon sugar. We also had a bowl of powdered sugar to drop and coat the hot mini donuts.

Final thoughts…

SIMPLE. FUN. HEALTHY-ier than fried pastries. GREAT FOR KIDS.

It’s a keeper!

Good luck!

~Anne

14 thoughts on “The Babycakes Donut Maker… GIVEAWAY!

  1. Oooh, I’d love one of these! I’m always looking at them in our Target but my husband never wants to waste the money on one! (I’m a kid at heart, what can I say?)

  2. Apple sauce doughnuts sound amazing! I adore silver shakers, it would also be useful to sprinkle icing sugar on muffins and cupcakes.

    Had my eye on this machine for a while as making doughnuts from scratch is a rather long process.

  3. My 3 year old daughter loves donuts and loves helping out in the kitchen. It would be great to have this!

  4. The baby cakes maker is a good thing to have,,looks easy to use and with easy clean up..Would like to win one of this and share the fun of making these baby cakes with family. Thanks for the chance!

  5. I WANT ONE!!!

    My nephew got one for his wife thinking he’d be getting donuts everyday. Too bad for him; she’s used it only a couple of times.

    He comes to my house for my fried donuts. He loves the cinnamon and sugar donuts I make. They do take a while to make, since I have to let the yeast rise before and after the donut shape.

    Your blog is fun. I look forward to reading new posts.

    On Sat, Mar 2, 2013 at 7:06 PM, WordPress.com

  6. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Your sweet thoughts...

